Bread Pudding

In the last post, I made brioche.  To start this week off, now that we’re caught up, I took that brioche and made bread pudding.  But not a sweet one, a savory bread pudding. Specifically, I made Thomas Keller’s Leek Bread Pudding.

Week: 50 of 52

Cookbook: ad hoc at home, Thomas Keller

I started by cutting the brioche into cubes and toasting them.

Meanwhile, I melted the leeks with butter.

I mixed the croutons with the leeks, along with some herbs.

I spread the bread & leek mixture in a baking dish and sprinkled with grated Gruyère cheese.  Then I poured a mixture of eggs, milk & cream over the bread and let it soak for 15 minutes. Finally, I sprinkled more cheese and put it in the oven.

I served the bread pudding with roast chicken and brussels sprouts, and it was really good.

Ingredients:

  • Brioche
  • Leeks
  • Butter
  • Milk
  • Eggs
  • Cream
  • Thyme
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Gruyère Cheese

 

Leave a Reply

