Jamaican Curried Goat

Having never eaten goat before, I wasn’t sure how to cook with it, but as I had goat stew meat, a traditional Jamaican dish – Curried Goat – seemed to be a popular option.

Week: 45 of 52

Cookbook: A few Jamaican websites

I started by making the curry powder, a mixture of turmeric, coriander, cayenne, fenugreek, cumin, cinnamon, cardamom, pepper, star anise, mustard seed, ginger, nutmeg and allspice.  I mixed it in a mortar and pestle.

I browned the curry powder in oil in a pan, before adding the meat, chopped onions, scallions, garlic and a hot pepper.

Following that, I added more curry powder, fresh thyme, salt & pepper, before covering in water and simmering until the meat was tender, about an hour.  Once the meat was tender, I added diced potatoes and cooked for another 20 minutes.

I served the curry over rice with braised swiss chard and mustard greens.  This was definitely an enjoyable introduction to goat!

Ingredients:

  • Jamaican curry powder
  • Goat meet
  • Oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • Onion
  • Scallions
  • Garlic
  • Scotch bonnet pepper
  • Thyme
  • Water
  • Potatoes
Leave a Reply

