Thai Red Curry

While I’ve prepared Indian curries, I’ve never made a true Thai curry, the key elements being coconut milk and Thai curry paste.  But this week, I changed that.

Week: 44 of 52

I decided to make a curry with some pumpkin I had and used a recipe that called for butternut squash, but replaced the squash with pumpkin.  This curry started by sautéing the pumpkin with cumin seeds until browned.

Following that, I cooked the onions and when softened, added a little of the coconut milk.   Next came the curry paste.

To the onion mixture, I added back the pumpkin, the rest of the coconut milk, whole cloves, a cinnamon stick and water and simmered until the pumpkin was cooked through.

Finally, I stirred in spinach and cooked until just wilted, added some fish sauce for salt, and then served the curry over brown rice, sprinkled with cashews and served with a lime wedge.

This was a great mix of spicy, salty, sweet, and sour, and something I would definitely make again!  Though maybe next time I’ll try making my own curry paste.

Ingredients:

  • Pumpkin or Winter Squash
  • Cumin Seed
  • Onion
  • Coconut Milk
  • Red Curry Paste
  • Cloves
  • Cinnamon
  • Water
  • Spinach
  • Fish Sauce
  • Cashews
Leave a Reply

