Homemade Pizza Dough

What else do you when you have fresh mozzarella and basil?  Make pizza, of course!  I made pizza from scratch for this week.

Week: 35 of 52

Cookbook: Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day

I used the recipe for olive oil dough from this great book for the pizza.  I mixed yeast, salt, olive oil, and warm water to start the dough.  Then I added a mix of white and whole wheat flours.

After a 2 hour rise, the dough looked like this:

Meanwhile, I pre-heated the oven for a long time, with my baking stone in side. When the dough had risen, I rolled it out to make the pizza.

I placed the dough on the back of a cookie sheet with corn meal (I don’t have a pizza peel, so this allows for easy transfer into the oven).  I covered the dough with fresh tomato sauce and homemade mozzarella.

I baked the pizza until it was done about 12-14 minutes and covered it with fresh basil.  And then we ate it!

Ingredients:

  • Yeast
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Water
  • Flour
  • Fresh Tomato Sauce
  • Fresh Mozzarella
  • Fresh Basil
Leave a Reply

