Fresh Ricotta Gnudi

I made a LOT of cheese this weekend with my friend Katrina – she wanted to learn how, so I showed her the secrets of my cheesemaking kit.  We made fresh mozzarella and ricotta.  I used the mozzarella for lots of heirloom tomato salad.

We used the ricotta to make ricotta gnudi.

Week: 34 of 52

Cookbook: Stir, Barbara Lynch

Starting with fresh ricotta, I mixed the cheese with flour, egg, parmigiano reggiano, salt & pepper.  I kneaded this to form a dough.

Once the dough is mixed, sections are rolled out into 3/4″-thick log and cut into smaller pieces which are rolled over a gnocchi board.

I froze the completed dumplings for an hour before cooking and then boiled in salted water until they floated to the surface.

I tossed the gnudi with a simple marinara (Lynch’s “Odd Fellow” marinara, to be precise) and topped with grated parmigiano and fresh basil.  We enjoyed the wonderful dumplings with our tomato & mozzarella salad, a simple green salad, and toasted baguette with last week’s mushroom butter, with which I’m completely in love!

Ingredients:

  • Fresh ricotta
  • Egg
  • Flour
  • Parmigiano reggiano
  • Salt & pepper
  • Marinara sauce
Leave a Reply

