Beef Carpaccio

I’ve had a piece of Open Meadow Farm pastured Black Angus tenderloin sitting in the freezer, just waiting to be turned into beef carpaccio.  Tonight was the night!

Week: 33 of 52

No cookbooks utilized tonight.  I pulled this together from a few recipes on Epicurious and was following the concept utilized by Todd English: potato cake, greens, onions, aioli and beef!

Jonathan made the potato cake out of shredded potato, salt, pepper, and fresh rosemary.  He also made a nice truffle vinaigrette.

Then I sautéed some onions and glazed with a bit of balsamic.

Finally, I took the partially frozen piece of beef (easier to slice) and sliced it!

To assemble, I laid out the beef and the potato cake.  I topped the potato with lettuce, the balsamic onions, and drizzled the vinaigrette over everything. Finally, I grated fresh Parmigiano Reggiano over it all!

We ate this with a fresh tomato & mozzarella salad and some toasted bread with a fresh mushroom butter I made as well (see below).

Ingredients:

  • Beef
  • Lettuce
  • Parmigiano Reggiano
  • White Wine Vinegar
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Truffle Oil
  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Onion
  • Thyme
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Potato
  • Rosemary
  • Olive Oil

This weekend, we checked out Bergamot in Somerville. Very good and would definitely go back. But the most memorable thing about the meal and the thing I wanted to eat all night long? The transcendent mushroom butter served with the bread.  I think I tracked down a recipe online while I was still at the table. Thankfully, Jenny over at Nourished Kitchen had just posted one after a foraging trip.  Check out her recipe here.  Here are the photos from what I made.

Leave a Reply

