CSA Week 9

Wow, you bring on the heat and humidity and clearly fields just start bursting with produce.  We got so much stuff this week!

  • Apples
  • Tomatoes
  • New Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Zucchini & Summer Squash
  • Corn
  • Eggplant
  • Parsley
  • Garlic
  • Sweet Potato Greens
  • Lettuce
  • Baby Greens Mix

I set aside the apples for snacks, along with some of the carrots and squash.  I also set aside the parsley and garlic and will use when needed while cooking.  I plan to make a vegetable curry with some of the eggplant, carrots, potatoes, tomato, and some green beans I have left over from last week.  I also plan to use the rest of eggplant and the sweet potato greens in some Asian-inspired dishes with a salad and extra brown rice from making the curry.  (Eggplant, Greens)

Tonight, I used the corn, zucchini, tomato, and the baby greens in a grilled shrimp salad. I started with this recipe and added a few things that I thought would also work.

I grilled the corn and zucchini, and following that, grilled the shrimp.  I cut the kernels off the cob and sliced the zucchini and mixed these together with the shrimp, red onion, jalapeno, coriander and parsley.

I served this over the baby greens, topped it with some tomato, and added the simple lemon juice, white wine vinegar & olive oil dressing.

Leave a Reply

