Bouillabaisse

I’ve been wanting to make bouillabaisse for a while and a visit to the Harbor Fish Market in Portland, Maine provided just what I needed for this recipe!

Week: 32 of 52

Cookbooks: How to Cook Everything, Mark Bittman & Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Julia Child

I referenced both recipes to make this wonderful fish soup for dinner tonight.

I started with softened onions and added to that a mixture orange zest, fennel seeds, saffron, and cayenne pepper.

After stirring the onion and spice mixture for a minute, I added chopped tomatoes and water and allowed the broth to come to a boil and then simmer for a while.

I had a selection of fresh P.E.I. mussels, shrimp and wild Atlantic cod.  I had hoped to add halibut as well for a firmer fish, but the market was all out!

Once the broth was ready, I cooked the mussels until open and then added the shrimp and cod to cook for a few minutes until just done.  I also added a healthy dose of garlic and a pinch of salt to finish the broth.

I served the soup in bowls with fresh parsley and of course, some nice bread to soak up what turned out to be a wonderful broth.  We had a nice simple salad with this and it was a great dinner!

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • Onion
  • Orange zest
  • Fennel seeds
  • Saffron
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Garlic
  • Mixture of firm & delicate white fish
  • Mixture of shellfish (optional)
Leave a Reply

