Gazpacho & Week 8

Yes, I’m combining the posts again this week – but with good reason! I used a portion of our CSA share this week to cook my new recipe this week: gazpacho!

First – our share:

This week, we got:

  • New potatoes – not used yet
  • Green beans – not used yet
  • Collard greens – served with chicken and mac & cheese
  • Corn – used for corn chowder
  • Fresh onions – used in various dishes
  • Cantaloupe – used for snacking
  • Cucumber
  • Bell pepper
  • Tomatoes
  • Cherry tomatoes

I used the bottom 4 ingredients to make gazpacho.

Week: 31 of 52

First, I soaked some bread in tomato juice and pureed that mixture when it was soft.

I added the pureed bread to a mixture of chopped tomatoes and cucumber and then pureed all of that together.

Once this mixture was fully pureed, I added red wine vinegar and olive oil and pureed again. Then you should strain out the solids, but I opted not to, in order to not waste anything!

After refrigerating overnight, I served the gazpacho with chopped cucumber, bell pepper, red onion, and cherry tomato on top. This is a beautiful summer soup!

Ingredients:

  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumber
  • Bell Pepper
  • Red Onion
  • Bread
  • Tomato Juice
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • Red Wine Vinegar
2 responses to “Gazpacho & Week 8

  1. Sounds like a great recipe, and one I’ll certainly try. Beautiful garnishes in the finished dish, by the way.

    I recently posted on my own food blog about a Gazpacho salad — a totally different variation, and yet very similar flavors. If you’re interested, you can check out the recipe at http://everydaygourmet.posterous.com/its-gazpacho-seasonbut-try-it-as-a-salad.

    Whitney (the Everyday Gourmet)

Leave a Reply

