Waffles & CSA Week 7

In the midst of yet another crazy week – it’s awards week in Boston and we were all over the place this past weekend.  But there is light at the end of the tunnel: a fairly calm weekend ahead and no events on the calendar for next week.

In the meantime, while running all over this weekend, I received an AWESOME waffle maker from my mother- & father-in-law!  So excited.  So, my new item this week is waffles.  I always assumed that even with an iron, waffles would be a bit difficult, but this was soooo easy.  I whipped up a multigrain batter from the book that came with the appliance.

Then I poured the batter on the hot and ready waffle maker.

And then it was done!

I served it with Vermont Smoke & Cure bacon, fresh blueberries, and Vermont maple syrup. Yum!

It’s also CSA week 7 and we picked up an awesome share this week!

This week, we got:

  • Komatsuna
  • Basil
  • Lettuce
  • Beets
  • Blueberries
  • Peaches
  • Nectarines
  • Carrots
  • Summer Squash
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant

Woo! Eggplant! And this crazy weird thing called Komatsuna! I’m told it’s related to radishes and similar to bok choy, also called “mustard spinach”.  Either way, there are ZERO recipes out there for this stuff, so I just stir-fried it with a little ginger and sesame oil and it was great.  Really light, crisp flavor.

I’m using the blueberries and basil to cook a dessert for a gathering we’re attending this weekend.  Lettuce + carrot + cucumber = salads for before dinner.  I’m going to play with the beets on Sunday and we’ll snack on the peaches and nectarines throughout the week.  I’m planning a play on this dish for the summer squash. And finally, I made Nasu Dengaku to enjoy with the stir-fried Komatsuna for dinner tonight.

Ok, that’s all for this week!

Leave a Reply

