Homemade Sausage

I love the combo of polenta, sausage, and broccoli rabe.  We had some great broccoli rabe in the CSA last week, so I saved it for this dish and made it tonight with homemade sausage.

Week: 28 of 52

Cookbook: Molto Italiano, Mario Batali

This was surprisingly easy, partially because I did the sausage free form instead of in casing.  I ground pork shoulder and pancetta on the largest disk on my food grinder. To the meat mixture, I added salt, pepper, fennel seed, red pepper flakes, and a little white wine, per the Batali recipe.

I formed the sausage mixture into 3-4 oz. patties.  And then I cooked them up!  I served the sausage over some creamy polenta and with the broccoli rabe, cooked in the pork drippings with garlic, a little chicken broth, and some white wine.

Ingredients:

  • Pork Shoulder
  • Pancetta
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Fennel Seed
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • White Wine
Leave a Reply

