CSA Week 3

As we were away last week, I gave our CSA share to my sister and brother-in-law, who were kind enough to watch the pups while we were away. They left behind the kale and turnips, which I braised last night to eat with some brown rice for lunch today – a little detox for the post-vacation transition.

Today, we picked up week 3!

In this week’s share:

  • Lettuce
  • Red Beets
  • Green Onions
  • Cherries
  • Collard Greens
  • Water Spinach (??)
  • Summer Squash
  • Yellow Carrots
  • Peas

I’ll save the cherries for snacking and desserts and the lettuce will get used easily.  But what about the rest?  Here are a few recipes I found…

Beets: Beet, Goat Cheese & Pistachio Salad (I will admit to not loving beets.  It’s about the only veggie I don’t love, but a recent trip to Bistro du Midi had a really nice beet & goat cheese salad, so I’m going to try this recipe this weekend.)

Beet & Beet Greens Risotto

Roasted Root Veggies with Green Onions Added benefit: uses carrots & green onions too!

Green Onions: These are pretty young, not full scallions, and similar to chives, so can be used as a seasoning tool in almost anything.

Collard Greens: Probably not making any fried chicken this week (see last post), so what to do? How about serving these alongside some roast chicken or pork instead?

Skillet Greens with Crispy Shallots and Cider Gastrique

Linguine with Collard Greens and Bacon

Water Spinach: Another new-to-us veggie! This is an Asian green and I found a fun recipe which I plan to make tomorrow night.

Stir-Fried Asian Greens with Chiles and Garlic

Carrots: Can be used in salads, for roasting, snacking, etc.

Summer Squash: Great for snacking, or grilled with a little oil and vinegar brushed on.  Also, this looks yummy:

Herbed Summer Squash and Potato Torte

Peas: These could be added to pasta or rice dishes or served on their own.  Fresh Spring peas are awesome!

As I’m still trying to detox a bit, tonight I modified this Risotto Primavera recipe to accommodate what I had and what I wanted.

I started by sauteing onions and carrots and then added brown rice, in place of Arborio.  I only added sautéed summer squash, because I didn’t have zucchini or asparagus.  And at the end, I added peas and some green onions.  I finished with a touch of truffle oil and a small amount of Parmigiano.

Leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

