The List

I finally went through all of my cookbooks, old and new, and came up with a giant list of ideas for things to cook.  Some things are just listed as key ingredients which I’ve never cooked with (i.e. goose) but others are specific dishes (i.e. steak).  Ok, I know that sounds nuts, but I’ll admit, I always let JP cook the steak.  I prep it or make sides and sauces, but I let him cook it – always on the grill.  So I’m determined to make a good steak on the stove top, all by myself.  Here they are, in no particular order.

Meats

  1. Duck Confit
  2. Cornish Hen
  3. Goose
  4. Tripe
  5. Coppa di Testa
  6. Foie Gras

Seafood

  1. Oysters
  2. Smoked salmon
  3. Calamari
  4. Crawfish
  5. Escargot

Breads/Pastries/Desserts/Etc.

  1. Pate a Choux
  2. Puff Pastry
  3. Macarons
  4. Creme Brulee

Ethnic

  1. Molé
  2. Peking Duck
  3. Samosas
  4. Naan
  5. Shanghai Soup Dumplings (Xiao Long Bao)
  6. Shiu Mai
  7. Hot and Sour Soup
  8. Bao
  9. Spanakopita
  10. Moussaka
  11. Black Pepper Shrimp
  12. Pernil
  13. Arepa
  14. Escabeche
  15. Ratatouille

Chef-Specific

  1. Momofuku Pork Belly Buns
  2. Momofuku Noodles
  3. Barbara Lynch’s Lobster Bolognese
  4. Barbara Lynch’s Prune-Stuffed Gnocchi
  5. Barbara Lynch’s Poulet au Pain
  6. The French Laundry Cornets

Completed

  1. Ribollita – my favorite Tuscan soup!
  2. Souffle
  3. Gumbo
  4. BBQ Shrimp – New Orleans style
  5. Oahu North Shore Truck Shrimp
  6. Pulled Pork
  7. Shrimp & Grits
  8. Steak
  9. Burger
  10. Pad Thai
  11. Chicken Tikka Masala
  12. French Onion Soup
  13. Baguette
  14. Summer Rolls
  15. Veal
  16. Ad Hoc Fried Chicken
  17. Falafel
  18. Baba Ghanouj
  19. Hummus
  20. Tabbouleh
  21. Ceviche
  22. Tortillas
  23. Quiche
  24. Corned Beef
  25. Fried Rice
  26. Ricotta
  27. Oxtail
  28. Stuffed Pasta
  29. Leg of Lamb
  30. Banh Mi
  31. Pho
  32. Butter-Poached Lobster
  33. Sausage
  34. Dumplings
  35. Bouillabaisse
  36. Beef Carpaccio
  37. Ricotta Gnudi
  38. Pizza Dough
  39. Ice Cream
  40. Bagels
  41. Jambalaya
  42. Tamales
  43. Caldo Verde
  44. Ropa Vieja
  45. Tarte Tatin
  46. Cassoulet
  47. Goat
  48. Duck Prosciutto
  49. Crepes
  50. Brioche
  51. Bread Pudding
  52. Croque Madame
  53. Rillettes

So this isn’t quite 50 and I can’t say for sure that I’ll actually do all of these specific ideas, but it’s a start.  All suggestions or votes for the next dish are welcome!!

UPDATE 1-25-10: I got a few new cookbooks (including Jaden Hair’s Steamy Kitchen Cookbook, Rick Bayless’s Authentic Mexican and Eileen Yin-Fei Lo’s Mastering the Art of Chinese Cooking) so I’ve updated the list with more new recipes I want to try.  You can still vote for what you want to see me make next!

UPDATE 2-20-10: I got a new cookbook today!  The Asian Grandmothers Cookbook from Patricia Tanumihardja.  Added a couple new recipes to the list.  Pat has a blog as well, you can read it here.

UPDATE 3-19-10: I got a few new cookbooks this week and it’s really feeling like I have a solid collection at this point!  Included in the new books: Alice Water’s The Art of Simple Food, Andrea Nguyen’s Asian Dumplings, Claudia Rosen’s New Book of Middle Eastern Food.  I also re-organized the list by category.

UPDATE 4-17-10:  Two new books this weekend!  Believe it or not, I didn’t own MtAoFC (Mastering the Art of French Cooking), so I rectified that finally.  I also picked up the new Blue Ribbon Cookbook from the Bromberg brothers who run all of the various Blue Ribbon restaurants in New York.

One response to “The List

  1. BBQ Shrimp, New Orleans style

Leave a Reply

