Gnocchi ai Pizzaiolo

Week: 1 of 52

Cookbook: Molto Italiano by Mario Batali

My first recipe actually picked me – I was testing a new cookbook holder and randomly opened Molto Italiano to the page for the Gnocchi ai Pizzaiolo recipe.  It was the perfect dish to get this project started because I had potatoes on hand from Misty Meadows Organic Farm in Grand Isle, Maine as well as one of my favorite cheeses, Maplebrook Farm’s Applewood Smoked Mozzarella. Also, the gnocchi recipe looked manageable enough to conquer on a weeknight.  A couple years ago, we attempted a spinach gnocchi for a holiday dinner – it didn’t go too well.  Cooking the good ol’ standard potato version went much better.

I’ve seen two schools of thought on cooking the potatoes – baking or boiling in the skins.  This recipe boiled them, and it worked pretty well at keeping the moisture low.  Peeling hot potatoes is actually not that hard, minus the heat factor.  It was like onion skins.

Post-peel I riced the potatoes (shame on me for not owning the prerequisite food mill) into a mound, covered in flour and added an egg.  I cut back on the flour because I didn’t have quite the amount of potatoes the recipe called for and in hindsight I probably should have used more.

The gnocchi came out well though – they could have been a little firmer, but you could really taste the potato, which was great.  While the potatoes had been boiling I made the simple sauce – chopped tomatoes + garlic + picholine olives.  It only took about 45 minutes once the potatoes were boiled until everything was done.  Not the prettiest gnocchi ever, but for the first attempt, I’ll take it.

Now it’s time to scan the cookbooks for what to cook next week…

Ingredients:

2 responses to “Gnocchi ai Pizzaiolo

  1. Hi! Love the idea and the site. I’ve always wanted to try gnocchi — this inspires me to give it a shot- though I have no idea what a potato ricer is or where to get one…
    What are your favorite “kitchen specialty stores?”

    • Hi Jen! Thanks for checking it out! This recipe called for a food mill, but the potato ricer worked well too. The last time we are at the Solomon Pond mall, we popped into a great kitchen store on the 2nd floor (at the end near the pet store) – I bet they would have both and their prices were really good. You could also find at Williams-Sonoma or Bed Bath & Beyond. This is what a potato ricer looks like – also great for making consistently smooth mashed potatoes. http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?order_num=-1&SKU=11448763 Good luck with the gnocchi – let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

