Welcome!

I’m a 27-year-old home cook, eating enthusiast and wannabe farmer living in Boston, MA with my husband (JP) and two dogs.  Food has long been a joy of mine.  During my junior year in high school I skipped the lunch period every day and went home to cook my own food.  I got my KitchenAid stand mixer at 18.  I come from a family that loves to cook all types of food and I spend an inappropriate amount of time reading about local farms & food producers.

When I was a student in the graphic design program at Northeastern University, they made us do everything by hand before we could start taking the shortcuts provided by the computer.  To some extent, I guess I take that same approach with food – I want to learn new techniques and cuisines and use them in my kitchen.  I love to eat at restaurants of all shapes and kinds, but I feel you can appreciate the food even more when you understand the work that went into it – from farm to plate.

In an effort to keep learning, I made a resolution in 2010 to cook something new every week and to continue to cook and eat with an ear to the earth.  This blog is about that and anything related that seems interesting.  Of course there are many who have done this before me and many more who will do it after, but I’m excited to see where this takes me, learn new things, and hopefully meet new people in the process. Thanks for reading – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

